A different look

PA Supreme Court establishes what will make up the 15th Congressional District

Assuming he’s re-elected to a sixth term — and he hasn’t ever really been challenged — Glenn Thompson will continue to represent Warren County in the U.S. House of Representatives.

But his district is going to look a lot different.

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania recently ran a public notice in the Times Observer detailing the specifics of what — effective next year — will be the 15th Congressional District.

The notice was filed pursuant to the Pennsylvania’s Supreme Court decision in League of Women Voters v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

“The Congressional Districts established by the Court’s Order will be used for the General Primary and General Election to be held in 2018,” the notice states.

Thompson is unopposed for the Republican nod in the new district.

His challengers include Democrats Wade A. Jodun of Center County, who was a fisheries biologist with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service for 21 years, and Susan Boser, from White Township, Indiana County, who is a sociology professor at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

The district has been firmly under Republican control for many years with representative William Clinger and John Peterson preceding Thompson.

According to a municipal-level analysis by the New York Times of each of the new Congressional districts, the current 5th district was carried in the most recently presidential election by Donald Trump by 29 percent. The new district — the New York Times projects — would be carried by Trump by 43 percent.

Though the partisan discrepancy is greater in that instance, the New York Times analysis concludes that the current 12-6 Congressional delegation — 12 Republicans to six Democrats — would shift to 10-8 under the new map given 2016 presidential voting numbers. Per 2012 voting numbers, the Congressional delegation would be nine Republicans and nine Democrats.

Here’s the municipal-level description of the soon-to-be 15th Congressional District:

¯ All of Armstrong County.

¯ Part of Butler County including Allegheny, Buffalo, Clearfield, Concord, Donegal, Fairview, part of Jefferson, Oakland, Parker, Summit, Venango, Washington and Winfield township as well as Bruin, Cherry Valley, Chicora, East Butler, Eau Claire, Fairview, Karns City and Petrolia boroughs.

¯ Part of Cambria including Adams, Allegheny, Barr, Blacklick, Cambria, Chest, Clearfield, Cresson, Croyle, Dean, East Carroll, part of East Taylor, Elder, Gallitzin, Jackson, Munster, Portage, Read, Richland, Summerhill, Susquehanna, Washington, West Carroll and White townships as well as Ashville, Carrolltown, Cassandra, Chest Springs, Cresson, Ebensburg, Ehrenfeld, Gallitzin, Geistown, Hastings, Lilly, Loretta, Nanty Glo, Northern Cambria, Patton, Portage, Sankertown, Scalp Level, South Fork, Summer Hill, a portion of Tunnelhill, Vinton and Wilmore boroughs.

¯ All of Cameron County.

¯ Part of Centre County including Benner, Boggs, Burnside, Curtin, part of Halfmoon, Howard, Huston, Liberty, Marion, Patton, Rush, Snow Shoe, Spring, Taylor, Union Walker and Worth townships as well as Bellefonte, Howard, Milesburg, Philipsburg, Port Matilda, Snow Shoe and Unionville boroughs.

¯ All of Clarion County.

¯ All of Clearfield County.

¯ All of Elk County.

¯ All of Forest County.

¯ All of Indiana County.

¯All of Jefferson County.

¯ All of McKean County.

¯ All of Venango County.

¯ All of Warren County.

According to the notice published by the state, the total population of the new district is 705,688.