Youngsville’s Morris, Ike’s Jaquay, Bauer earn Section 1 titles; 9 Knights, 2 Eagles advance to districts

Youngsville’s Aaron Morris stands atop the podium after winning the 145-pound weight class at the District 10 Section I championships at Union City High School on Saturday. At right is Eisenhower’s Garrett Head, who Morris beat in a thrilling 13-10 decision for the crown. Both advanced to the District 10 Class 2A championships, beginning Friday at Sharon High School.

UNION CITY – It was a banner day for Eisenhower’s Logan Jaquay and Joey Bauer, as well as Youngsville’s Aaron Morris, as all three took first place in their respective weight classes at the District 10 Section I Tournament on Saturday.

In addition, seven other Knights – Garrett Head, Spencer Head, Matt Huling, Easton Hedman, Josh Bortz, Sam Holt and Alex Barnett, as well as Youngsville’s Mason Benjamin will also be moving on to the District 10 championships next weekend at Sharon High School courtesy of their top four finishes.

Morris and Garrett Head engaged in a Warren County showdown for the 145-pound crown. It was a match that lived up to the billing, as Morris earned an exciting 13-10 win.

“Aaron Morris had a hard fought path to earning his title as the 145 section champion,” said Youngsville coach Paul Clough. “Friday night he earned a come-from-behind victory in the third period of his quarterfinal match with Josh McCall of Fort LeBoeuf – the eventual fourth place finisher in the weight class.”

Added Eisenhower coach Kris Black: “Kind of a back and forth match. Aaron is a long kid, and he found a way to get it done. Garrett got out of position a couple times. A lot of times when he gets in a bad position, his athleticism gets him out of it. It caught up with him in that match. He’s got a pretty good mindset on him and I think he’ll be motivated going into districts.”

Benjamin, the Eagles’ other senior, is also moving on with his third place finish. He lost his semifinal match Saturday morning, but battled back, ultimately earning a pin in his third place match.

“Mason Benjamin went 3-1 en route to a third place finish at heavyweight,” Clough said. “After pinning Lance McLaughlin of Fort LeBoeuf in the quarterfinals, he suffered a semi-final loss to Harbor Creek’s Collin Askins. He bounced back in the consolations and avenged an early season loss by defeating Saegertown’s Drake Hazlett to earn his spot in the consolation finals, where he took just 1:42 to pin Tameron Hoyt of North East.”

“The boys all wrestled some of their best matches of the year,” Clough added.

Jaquay, meanwhile, earned a quick pin of Corry’s Logan Munsee in the semifinals at 106 (1:54), before getting a hard-fought 6-4 overtime decision over North East’s Caiden Eastman.

Bauer had a bye into the semifinals Saturday morning at 220, where he earned an impressive 11-4 decision over Tyler Hedderick of Union City. In the final, he edged Dom Viscuso of Harbor Creek in a phenomenal match, 8-7.

“Those two had fantastic tournaments,” said Black. “Logan in overtime in the finals, really looked sharp in overtime against quality kid, ranked in the state. If I had to pick and OW, it would be Logan. For Joe, his first year back, winning a section title, he wrestled a really good tournament.”

Spencer Head, meanwhile, earned a pin over Corry’s John Curtis to advance to the 152-pound final, where he was pinned in the third period by Fort LeBoeuf’s Trenton Pace.

“Spencer, to watch his brother lose right before them and him being at 99 wins, I think he just had an off match,” Black said. “An off match doesn’t mean it’s going to translate into next week.”

Hedman, Bortz, Barnett, and Huling all advanced to the semifinals, with Holt losing on Friday and battling all the way back to a top four finish.

“Sam Holt is one of the guys who really, really found a way,” Black said. “Our motto this year has been find a way. Sam was down in an elimination match 6-0 going into the third and he took his kid down and turned him twice to force OT and then wins in overtime. He easily could have been done. Not only to come back and win that one, but to win next one against really quality kid. He wanted to go. He wasn’t content to be done yet.”

Huling was the lone Knight to win his third place match, getting a fall against Union City’s Nick Kaday right at the end of the first period.

The District 10 Class 2A championships will begin on Friday, with the preliminaries and quarterfinals at 5:30 p.m. from Sharon High School.

“Sending nine is great, but I think we walked out of there a little disappointed,” Black said. “We kind of felt that we could get more guys than that. “When I was coaching before, getting five or six through we’d be really happy about. But we have higher expectations now. The guys have bought into everything we’ve taught them and really believe that we can do it. We’re going to get after it this week and be ready to go.”

– – –

Team Scores

1. Harbor Creek 159.5; 2. Union City 146.5; 3. Eisenhower 127; 4. Fort LeBoeuf 106; 5. Saegertown 105; 6. North East 86; 7. Corry 75.5; 8. Iroquois 53.5; 9. Youngsville 32; 10. Seneca 24

Individual Results

Championship Finals

106 – Logan Jaquay (E) dec. Caiden Eastman (NE) 6-4

113 – William Burgess (UC) dec. Alex Kightlinger (SA) 4-3

120 – Isaac Crowell (FLB) dec. Judah Gardner (UC) 5-1

126 – Kenny Kiser (SA) pinned Nick Oosterkamp (HC) 4:25

132 – Sam Sallott (HC) dec. Garrett Kopp (NE) 3-1

138 – Dylan Muscarella (NE) pinned Joe Perry (C) 5:04

145 – Aaron Morris (Y) dec. Garrett Head (E) 13-10

152 – Trenton Pace (FLB) pinned Spencer Head (E) 5:36

160 – Joe Galvin (I) maj. dec. Brent Burbules (FLB) 15-5

170 – Gavin Henry (UC) pinned Shane Watkins (HC) 1:44

182 – Cody Mulligan (SA) pinned Julian Gorring (FLB) 3:51

195 – Lucas Folmar (HC) dec. Draven Douglas (I) 10-3

220 – Joey Bauer (E) dec. Dom Visuso (HC) 8-7

285 – Matt Long (UC) pinned Collin Askins (HC) :28


106 – Joe Gabler (HC) pinned Logan Munsee (C) 3:21

113 – Thomas Johnson (I) tech fall Easton Hedman (E) 17-0, 4:56

120 – Mike Gabler (HC) dec. Jaeden Reagle (SA) 7-0

126 – Dillon Schnars (NE) maj. dec. Josh Bortz (E) 12-3

132 – Nick Lapinski (C) dec. Dawson Barthlomew (SA) 5-3

138 – Colten Beck (SA) dec. Sam Holt (E) 9-3

145 – Austin Jaquith (UC) dec. Josh McCall (FLB) 3-1

152 – Esteban Waldman (UC) dec. John Curtis (C) 5-4

160 – Jason Bratt (HC) dec. Alex Barnett (E) 8-1

170 – Tyler Burlew (C) dec. Jacob Lloyd (FLB) 5-3

182 – Marshall VanTassel (UC) dec. Mike McCurdy (SE) 7-2

195 – Matt Huling (E) pinned Nick Kaday (UC) 2:00

220 – Tyler Hedderick (UC) dec. Shawn Proctor (C) 5-0

285 – Mason Benjamin (Y) pinned Tameron Hoyt (NE) 1:42


106 – Jaquay (E) pinned Munsee (C) 1:54; Eastman (NE) pinned Gabler (HC) :55

113 – Burgess (UC) tech fall Johnson (I) 15-0, 4:05; Kightlinger (SA) pinned Hedman (E) :55

120 – Crowell (FLB) maj. dec. Reagle (SA) 17-5; Gardner (UC) pinned Gabler (HC) 4:42

126 – Kiser (SA) pinned Bortz (E) 3:58; Oosterkamp (HC) pinned Schnars (NE) :47

132 – Sallot (HC) maj. dec. Bartholomew (SA) 16-5; Kopp (NE) dec. Lapinski (C) 4-2

138 – Perry (C) dec. Jefferson (SE) 12-8; Dy. Muscarella (NE) dec. Beck (SA) 8-1

145 – G. Head (E) maj. dec. De. Muscarella (NE) 12-1; Morris (Y) dec. Jaquith (UC) 7-2

152 – S. Head (E) pinned Curtis (C) 5:26; PAce (FLB) dec. Waldman (UC) 6-3

160 – Galvin (I) dec. Barnett (E) 17-10; Burbules (FLB) dec. Bratt (HC) 8-4

170 – Henry (UC) dec. Lloyd (FLB) 5-2; Watkins (HC) dec. Burlew (C) 7-5

182 – Mulligan (SA) pinned VanTassel (UC) 1:22; Gorring (FLB) dec. McCurdy (SE) 11-6

195 – Folmar (HC) pinned Kaday (UC) 2:40; Douglas (I) dec. Huling (E) 6-5

220 – Bauer (E) dec. Hedderick (UC) 11-4; Viscuso (HC) maj. dec. Phelps (NE) 9-1

285 – Long (UC) pinned Hoyt (NE) :22; Askins (HC) pinned Benjamin (Y) 3:07


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)