Eisenhower’s Hanson is POY in Region 3

Eisenhower’s Austin Hanson was named the Region 3 Player of the Year.

The Eisenhower Knights had a season for the record books and the postseason honors are starting to come in.

The Knights finished the season as tri-champions of District 10’s Region 3 along with Saegertown and Cambridge Springs, and finished with a 21-6 overall season record.

The Knights also got the first win in school history in the PIAA state playoff round as they advanced to the “Sweet 16.” Their season ended with a loss to eventual state champion Aliquippa.

All-region honors recently came out and the Region 3 coaches voted two Knights to the first team.

Senior Kyler Black, who averaged 11.3 points and nearly 5 rebounds per game was named to the First Team. Black was a leader for the Knights all season on the court.

Eisenhower’s Kyler Black was named to the Region 3 First Team.

Freshman Austin Hanson was named Region 3 Player of the Year after averaging 15.4 points and nearly 7 rebounds per game. He also shot 81% from the free-throw line.

“Just an incredible honor for both of these players,” Eisenhower head coach Ryan Mangini said. “Kyler is just so versatile. His value as both a passer and a scorer along with his size and footwork allowed him to drive by players to the hoop and that really made our offense go this season.”

“Austin came in and just did a phenomenal job for us this season,” Mangini added of Hanson. “His work ethic and his preparation allow him to be an extremely consistent player for us. He was great on both ends of the court as a scorer, defender, rebounder and ball handler.”

Region 3

First team

Parker Schmidt Cambridge Springs 12

Walker Carroll Cochranton 10

Austin Hanson Eisenhower 9

Cody Huson Saegertown 12

Owen Riley Cambridge Springs 12

Kyler Black Eisenhower 12

Second team

Dawson Carroll Cochranton 12

Collin Jones Saegertown 12

Jackson Scott Saegertown 9

Rylan Benton Youngsville 9

Nate Lucks Youngsville 12

Luke Young Saegertown 10

Tyler Troutman Cambridge Springs 12

Region tri-champions – Cambridge Springs, Eisenhower and Saegertown

Region player of the year – Austin Hanson, Eisenhower


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today