Special night

Four drivers record first victories of season at Stateline

Photo courtesy of Stateline Speedway Jason Genco stands in Victory Lane after recording his first RUSH Crate Late Model A-Main win of the season Saturday night at Stateline Speedway

BUSTI, N.Y. — Stateline Speedway was once again blessed with excellent holiday weekend weather, as well as another action-filled night of racing Saturday, which included 145 cars filling the pits, a great crowd, and four drivers get their first victories of the 2022 season.

After struggling earlier this year, Darrell Bossard seems to have finally found his rhythm by scoring convincing back-to-back victories in the Super Late Models; Dennis Lunger seems unstoppable in the RUSH Pro Mods, making it 5 out of 5 on the season; Jason Covey made his first trip to the winner’s circle in the highly competitive Pro Stocks; and Jason Genco, who is no stranger to victory lane, scored his first RUSH Crate Late Model A-Main this season.

Michael McGee, who had an impressive 2021 campaign, finally broke through for his first triumph of 2022, and Brandon Huffman won a last lap heart stopper in the Challengers to claim win No. 1 this year.

PRO STOCKS (24 Entries)

Heat 1: 1)Matt Sampson 2)Jason Covey 3)Cody Rickard 4)Mikael Weaver 5)David Tower 6)Harold Brown 7)Kole Stelmack 8)Victor Earle Jr.

Heat 2: 1)Kyle Couchenour 2)Shane Applebee 3)Michael Oakes 4)Carl Marcy 5)Bill Applebee 6)Dana Myabee 7)Tanner Ramsey 8)Dale Sheets

Heat 3: 1)John Boardman 2)Gary Fisher Jr. 3)Dave Shagla 4)Wesley McCray 5)Justin Pratt 6)Tyler Dynys 7)Drake McCray 8)Grant D. Richard

Feature: 1)Covey 2)Sampson 3)Boardman 4)W. McCray 5)Fisher Jr. 6)B. Applebee 7)Ramsey 8)Tower 9)Dynys 10)Shagla 11)D. McCray 12)Marcy 13)Maybee 14)Rickard 15)Brown 16)Beaver 17)Pratt 18)Couchenour 19)Richard 20)Oakes 21)S. Applebee 22)Stelmack 23)Sheets 24)Earle Jr.

Lap Leaders: Covey(1-15)


Heat 1: 1)David Parker 2)Dennis Lunger 3)Matt Sipes 4)Steve Dixon 5)Randy Hall 6)Khole Wanzer 7)Darrin Waldron 8)Kassandra Norman

Heat 2: 1)Damian Bidwell 2)Will Pinckney 3)Jarrod Lyon 4)Scott Jordan 5)Rory Houser 6)Steve Houser 7)Chad Clement 8)Lonnie Waldron

Heat 3: 1)Jason Genco 2)Scott Gurdak 3)Rodney Houser 4)Brian Larson 5)John Haggerty 6)Gary Youngs 7)Hunter Proctor

Feature: 1)Genco 2)Sipes 3)Bidwell 4)Gurdak 5)Hall 6)Wanzer 7)Pickney 8)Haggerty 9)D. Waldron 10)Dixon 11)Clement 12)Larson 13)S. Houser 14)Rodney Houser 15)Lyon 16)Proctor 17)Jordan 18)Rory Houser 19)Norman 20)Lunger 21)Youngs 22)L. Waldron 23)Parker

Lap Leaders: Genco(1-20)

UMP MODIFIEDS (25 Entries)

Heat 1: 1)Michael McGee 2)Jimmy Diabo 3)Tim Peterson 4)Brian Toto 5)Jason Brightman 6)Joel Lanphere 7)Matt Haskins

Heat 2: 1)Troy Johnson 2)Greg Johnson 3)Matt Kosinski 4)Dave Lanphere 5)Byron Johnson 6)James Wilburn

Heat 3: 1)Steve Rex 2)Bud Watson 3)Butch Southwell 4)Dave Sasso 5)Justin Carlson 6)Christopher Deponceau

Heat 4: 1)Cale Crocker 2)Al Brewer 3)Zach Johnson 4)Timothy Rockwell 5)Paul Nelson 6)Andrew Beatman

Feature: 1)McGee 2)Southwell 3)Crocker 4)B. Watson 5)T. Johnson 6)G. Johnson 7)Rex 8)Brewer 9)Sasso 10)Rockwell 11)Z. Johnson 12)D. Lanphere 13)Toto 14)Nelson 15)Brightman 16)Carlson 17)J. Lanphere 18)B. Johnson 19)Diabo 20)Deponceau 21)Haskins 22)Beatman 23)Kosinski 24)Peterson 25)Wilburn

Lap Leaders: McGee(1-20)


Heat 1: 1)Wyatt Scott 2)Garrett Mott 3)Wendell Pinckney 4)Dutch Davies 5)Kyle Bedell 6)Kevin Smith 7)Andy Boozel 8)Anthony Marotto

Heat 2: 1)Chub Frank 2)Jake Finnerty 3)Greg Oakes 4)Jason Genco 5)Ryan Scott 6)Michael Smith 7)Khole Wanzer 8)Scott Dellahoy Jr.

Heat 3: 1)Dave Hess Jr. 2)Max Blair 3)Darrell Bossard 4)Bump Headman 5)Bob Dorman 6)Kyle Knapp 7)Allen Haskins

Feature: 1)Bossard 2)Oakes 3)Blair 4)Hess Jr. 5)Frank 6)Finnerty 7)Davies 8)R. Scott 9)Pinckney 10)Bedell 11)Dorman 12)Boozel 13)Genco 14)W. Scott 15)M. Smith 16)Knapp 17)Wanzer 18)Dellahoy Jr. 19)Marotto 20)Mott 21)K. Smith 22)Haskins 23)Headman

Lap Leaders: Finnerty(1), Oakes(2-16), Bossard(17-25)

RUSH PRO MODS (23 Entries)

Heat 1: 1)Tyler Oakes 2)Al Brewer 3)Brendan Warner 4)Derek Peterson 5)Garrett Miller 6)Ryan Sanders

Heat 2: 1)Dennis Lunger 2)Adam Ashcroft 3)Nick Arnold 4)Vaughn Nystrom 5)Ryan Howard 6)Donald May Jr.

Heat 3: 1)Tyler Sutton 2)Victor Earle Jr. 3)Brian Mohawk 4)Chad Carlson 5)Stu Rickard 6)Kirk Mohawk

Heat 4: 1)Zain Harvey 2)Chad Ramsey 3)Ian Degolier 4)John Cline 5)Thomas Root

Feature: 1)Lunger 2)Oakes 3)Brewer 4)Earle Jr. 5)Warner 6)Arnold 7)Carlson 8)Cline 9)Degolier 10)Sutton 11)Rickard 12)Miller 13)Nystrom 14)Ramsey 15)B. Mohawk 16)Harvey 17)Sanders 18)May Jr. 19)Root 20)Howard 21)Ashcroft 22)Peterson 23)K. Mohawk

Lap Leaders: Oakes(1-7), Lunger(8-20)

CHALLENGERS (27 Entries)

Heat 1: 1)Nicholas Robie 2)Andrew Proper 3)Jessica Harvey 4)Holden Heineman 5)Domingo Echevarria 6)David Moller 7)Preston Matve

Heat 2: 1)Rick Feely 2)Brandon Huffman 3)Tammy Watson 4)Mark Winans 5)Kayla York 6)Charles Houser 7)Charles Silvis

Heat 3: 1)Chris Horton 2)John Mease 3)Tommy Labarbera 4)Daniel Bittinger 5)Craig Karns 6)Jordan Richard 7)Tyler Peterson

Heat 4: 1)Rachel Moller 2)Peter Volpe 3)William Sunderlin 4)Chris Miller 5)Eugene Kontz 6)Jasmine Markham

Feature: 1)Huffman 2)Labarbera 3)Robie 4)Proper 5)Volpe 6)Harvey 7)Horton 8)Mease 9)Karns 10)Heineman 11)Bittinger 12)Feeley 13)R. Moller 14)Sunderlin 15)Watson 16)Echevarria 17)Houser 18)Winans 19)D. Moller 20)Miller 21)Pearson 22)Kontz 23)Markham 24)York 25)Matve 26)Silvis 27)Richard

Lap Leaders: Huffman(1), Horton(2-9), Labarbera(10,11), Huffman(12)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today