Senior stars

Warren volleyball seniors Nyquist, Wortman earn region all-star honors

Times Observer photo by Andy Close Warren’s Grace Wortman goes up for an attack as Conneaut’s Emma Stevenson (24) and Jaelyn Blood (15) defend during their District 10 semifinal match, Thursday, October 31, 2019, at General McLane High School.

Warren volleyball seniors Grace Wortman and Lex Nyquist already have a multitude of accolades on their resumes.

They gained another Friday as both were named Region 6 all-stars, as voted on by region coaches. Nyquist was voted to the first-team for the second straight year (third overall selection), while Wortman earned second-team honors.

“In a region loaded with talent this year, these two seniors stood out,” Warren coach Mike Dolan said. “Both were especially terrific leaders this season who helped make everyone around them better.”

Wortman set a career high for kills this season with 234. She also had 169 digs, 33 aces and 21 blocks. Her calming influence on the court also helped as the Dragons had to replace four starters from a year ago.

“Grace has been a steadying presence on the varsity team for the past three years, and I’m very happy she has been recognized for her talents as well this year,” Dolan said. “Although she is a very skilled all-around player, her attacking especially improved this season as she really became an offensive force.”

Warren Area High School senior Lex Nyquist sets the ball to teammate Olivia English during the first set of the Dragons’ Senior Night contest against North East. Nyquist and fellow senior Grace Wortman were honored before what was a 3-0 win for the home team.

Nyquist had 813 assists on the year to bring her all-time program leading total to 2,846. She set a career high with 271 digs, which moved her into second on the program’s all-time list with 758. Nyquist was also a strong net force with a career high 45 kills and 20 blocks.

“Lex simply continues to impress as one of the best setters in the state,” Dolan said. “She has an almost unmatched ability to give her team a good chance to attack on almost every ball over the net.

“The team is definitely proud that they both got honored for their outstanding play,” he continued. “Also that they and their teammates were able to accomplish so much this year and throughout their careers.”

The full region all-star teams follow.


Region 1 All-Stars

First team

Brooke Shrock Commodore Perry 12 OH

Lauren Kos Sharpsville 10 S

MaKennah White West Middlesex 12 MH

Amy Ruditis Rocky Grove 12 OH

Morgan Popielarcheck Jamestown 12 MH

Grace Mild West Middlesex 12 S/OH

Delaney Snyder Commodore Perry 11 S

Kearstyn Coulter Commodore Perry 11 L

Second team

Liz Fedorchak Mercer 12 OH

Grace Jones Commodore Perry 11 MH

Sydney Stringert Commodore Perry 12 OP

Jenna Burkhart Mercer 12 OH

Lexy Channing Reynolds 12 OH

Ryanne Moore-Michaels Mercer 11 S

Quinlynn Keith Rocky Grove 11 MH

Olivia Franks West Middlesex 12 L

Farah Messai Jamestown 12 L

Region champion – Commodore Perry

Region Co-Players of the Year – Brooke Shrock, Commodore Perry and Lauren Kos, Sharpsville

Region 2 All-Stars

First team

Meg Goodsel Corry 12 S/OP

Maddi Vona Corry 12 OH

Maggie Thomas Maplewood 12 MH

Chloe Leech Maplewood 11 OH

Sadie Thomas Maplewood 9 OH

Rachel Brady Corry 10 OH

Lindsey Mitchell Corry 11 L

Madelyn Woge Maplewood 11 L

Second team

Alycia Ruiz Greenville 12 OH

Sydney Straub Titusville 12 MH

Ciara Davis Corry 11 MH

Lauren DiBucci Greenville 12 MH

Bailey Varndell Maplewood 9 S

Amber Scott Titusville 12 OH

Braelyn Eldred Titusville 12 L

Region champion – Maplewood

Region Co-Players of the Year – Meg Goodsel, Corry and Maggie Thomas, Maplewood

Region 3 All-Stars

First team

Natalie Franke Union City 12 OH

Cathryn Miller Cochranton 12 S

Maria Amory Cochranton 12 MH

Kaylee Mulligan Saegertown 12 OH

Averie Bremyer Saegertown 11 MH

Rachel Swanson Cambridge Springs 12 S

Vincena Reese Cochranton 12 L

Second team

Ashton Hoover Cambridge Springs 12 OH

Brooke Myers Cambridge Springs 12 OH

Janice Comstock Cochranton 12 MH

Brittany Houck Saegertown 10 OH

Lexi Moore Cochranton 11 OH

Eliza Reynolds Union City 11 MH

Cyaira Zelinski Union City 11 S

Amber Costello Saegertown 11 L

Region champion – Union City

Region Player of the Year – Natalie Franke, Union City

Region 4 All-Stars

First team

Taylor Kersnick Conneaut 12 MH

Cassidy Snider Conneaut 11 OH

Lucy Smith Meadville 12 OH

Emily Bortnick Conneaut 11 S

Ryan Gubba Grove City 12 S

Mia Sorensen Meadville 10 OP

Gracie Stryffeler Franklin 12 MH

Katie McDowell Grove City 12 MH

Megan Jackson Grove City 12 MH

Alexis Holt Meadville 11 L

Taylor Balint Slippery Rock 12 L

Second team

Kayla Nichols Hickory 12 MH

Aniyah Anderson Hickory 11 OH

Jamie Decker Conneaut 12 DS

Isabella Stefanak Hickory 12 OH

Jillian Decker Meadville 11 S

Tiffany Madison Slippery Rock 11 MH

Morgan Wentz Grove City 12 L

Region champion – Conneaut

Region Player of the Year – Cassidy Snider, Conneaut

Region 5 All-Stars

First team

Caroline Kraus Fairview 12 MH

Gabby Kuzmin Fairview 12 OH

LaeKynn Proctor Fort LeBoeuf 12 MH

Brianna King North East 12 MH

Hannah Murphy Fairview 12 S

Morgan Donnell Fort LeBoeuf 12 S

Emily Kucenski Fort LeBoeuf 12 L

Jenny Clickett Fairview 12 L

Second team

Taylor Williams Girard 10 OH

Kameron Mayes North East 11 S

Madelin Luxon Girard 12 MH

Kiersten Stafford Fairview 11 MH

Jessica Frazzini North East 12 OH

Maydison Kent Seneca 11 MH

Anna Bayer Fort LeBoeuf 11 RS

Nicole Warner Girard 12 L

Region champion – Fort LeBoeuf

Region Player of the Year – Caroline Kraus, Fairview

Region 6 All-Stars

First team

Julie Kruszewski Harbor Creek 12 MH

Kaitlyn Lipps Villa Maria 12 S/OP

Lex Nyquist Warren 12 S

Corinne Bechtold McDowell 12 OH

Abby Soboleski McDowell 11 OH/S

Elyssa Hulse Harbor Creek 12 L

Second team

Macy Stoddard Harbor Creek 12 OH

Kayle Seidel General McLane 11 OH

Kelly Miller McDowell 11 OH

Grace Wortman Warren 12 OH

Meghan Fitzgerald Harbor Creek 12 MH

Julia Miller McDowell 12 MH

Ali Lamoreaux General McLane 12 L

Karlee Berchtold Villa maria 10 MH

Region champion – Harbor Creek

Region Player of the Year – Julie Kruszewski, Harbor Creek


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)