Shining stars

Dragons have six Region 6 all-stars, Latimer named Player of the Year

Warren's Julia Lobdell served 16-straight points to start Thursday's match against Meadville.

Six Warren volleyball players were named first- or second-team Region 6 all-stars Friday.

First-team nods were earned by libero Julia Lobdell, setter Lex Nyquist, outside hitter Celia Chase and middle hitter Lydia Latimer. Right side Ellie Lobdell and middle hitter Jordan Sitler were second-team selections. The teams are determined by a vote of region coaches.

In addition to her first-team nod, Latimer was named Region 6 Player of the Year.

The Dragons rolled through region play this season, losing just one set to a Region 6 opponent. The individual players set career highs and shattered team records in every major statistical category. Latimer set new team marks in kills (987), attacks (2,096) and blocks (234), and is third in digs (655); Ellie Lobdell now holds the team record for digs (902) and moved from 13th to fifth in kills (554) and is fourth in blocks (131); Chase is now third all-time in kills (661) and fifth in digs (640); Nyquist, with her senior season still to play, sits atop the team list for assists (2,033).

Just this year alone, both Chase (310) and Latimer (428) surpassed the previous single season mark for kills (302). Nyquist’s season assist total (1,094) set a new single-season mark, and would have put her fourth on the all-time list. Sitler jumped from 76 kills in 2017 to 172 this year. Julia Lobdell set career highs in serves received (241) and digs (236).

Warren’s Ellie Lobdell gets set to serve on Tuesday aginast Villa. Lobdell closed out a dramatic rally in the third set with 6-straight points.

The full region all-star teams follow.

– – –


First team

Lydia Latimer Warren 12 MH

Warren’s Celia Chase passes the ball during the first set of a match against Erie at Warren Area High School, Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2018. Chase and the Dragons defeated the Royals, 3-1.

Lex Nyquist Warren 11 S

Kelly Miller McDowell 10 OH

Corinne Bechtold McDowell 11 OH

Celia Chase Warren 12 OH

Kaitlyn Lipps Villa Maria 11 S

Jordan Sitler and the Warren Dragons finished third at the Clarion Tournament on Saturday.

Julie Kruszewski Harbor Creek 11 MH

Julia Lobdell Warren 12 L

Kayla Freyermuth General McLane 12 L

Second team

Abby Soboleski McDowell 10 OH

Julia Miller McDowell 11 MH

Ellie Lobdell Warren 12 RS

Macy Stoddard Harbor Creek 11 OH

Jordan Sitler Warren 10 MH

Jessica Bernat Villa Maria 12 MH

Kendyl McKissock General McLane 12 OH

Olivia Kruszewski McDowell 12 L

Elyssa Hulse Harbor Creek 11 L

Region champion – Warren

Region player of the year – Lydia Latimer, Warren


First team

Alyssa Nehlen West Middlesex 12 S

MaKennah White West Middlesex 11 MH

Claire Staunch Sharpsville 11 MH

Brielle Wright Jamestown 12 S

Morgan Popielarcheck Jamestown 11 MH

Camille McClimans Jamestown 12 OH

Olivia Franks West Middlesex 11 L

Second team

Faith Morelli West Middlesex 12 OH

Evie Wood Jamestown 12 MH

Kyra Crosby Farrell 11 OH

Abby Rea Reynolds 11 OH

Corrin Toscano Rocky Grove 12 OH

Grace Mild West Middlesex 11 OH

Lauren Kos Sharpsville 9 S

Amber Dawson Sharpsville 12 L

Region champion – West Middlesex

Region co-players of the year – MaKennah White, West Middlesex and Camille McClimans, Jamestown


First team

Brooke Joncas Corry 12 MH

Sophie Varndell Maplewood 12 MH

Isabelle Snyder Maplewood 12 S

Meg Goodsel Corry 11 S/OP

Maddi Vona Corry 11 OH

Megan Dennis Corry 12 S

Sarah Cole Lakeview 12 MH

Amber Burchard Maplewood 12 L

Second team

Carly Fattman Greenville 12 MH

Erin Kelly Maplewood 12 OH

Amber Scott Titusville 11 OH

Zoe Sheffler Wilmington 12 MH

Emily Sonntag Corry 12 OH

Danica Barry Greenville 12 S

Hope Hasbrouck Corry 12 L

Region champion – Corry

Region player of the year – Sophie Varndell, Maplewood


First team

Alissa Dickson Cochranton 12 OH

Cori Schmidt Cambridge Springs 12 OH

Kendall Miller Cochranton 12 OH

Abby Wescott Cambridge Springs 12 MH

Maria Amory Cochranton 11 OP

Kaleigh Danielson Cochranton 12 MH

Julia Mailliard Cambridge Springs 12 OH

Vincena Reese Cochranton 11 L

Second team

MiKayla Balog Saegertown 12 OH

Natalie Franke Union City 11 OH

Cyaira Zielinski Union City 10 S

Carli Schlosser Saegertown 12 S

Cathryn Miller Cochranton 11 S

Brooke Myers Cambridge Springs 11 OP

Elise Miller Cochranton 12 OH

Chloe Schultz Cambridge Springs 10 L

Region champion – Cochranton

Region player of the year – Alissa Dickson, Cochranton


First team

Cassidy Snider Conneaut 10 OH

Sarah Orr Conneaut 12 S

Ashley Davidson Hickory 12 OH

Lucy Smith Meadville 11 OH

Morgan Malinski Slippery Rock 12 S

Bella Stefanak Hickory 11 OH

Taylor Kersnick Conneaut 11 MH

Kathryn Ledford Conneaut 12 L

Second team

Ryan Gubba Grove City 11 S

Arianne DeMarco Conneaut 12 OP

Reanna Daniels Hickory 11 S

Kayla Nichols Hickory 11 MH

Mya Storll Conneaut 12 OH

Skye Karastury Conneaut 12 DS

Lily Burtch Grove City 12 L

Region champion – Conneaut

Region player of the year – Kathryn Ledford, Conneaut


First team

Dalaina Holmes Fort LeBoeuf 12 S

Brianna King North East 11 MH

Gabby Malinowski Fort LeBoeuf 12 MH

Emma Vik North East 12 S

Madison Lesik Fort LeBoeuf 12 OH

Kailee Rictor Girard 12 OH

Alexis Orton North East 12 L

Second team

Sarah Wakley North East 12 OH

Carington Mallory Northwestern 12 OH

LaeKynn Proctor Fort LeBoeuf 11 MH

Alison Kitchen North East 12 MH

Kaitlyn Sheward North East 12 OH

Gabby Kuzmin Fairview 11 OH

Erin Stafford Fairview 12 MH

Jordan Klick Seneca 12 MH

Caitlin Walk Seneca 12 L

Emily Kucenski Fort LeBoeuf 11 L

Region champion – Fort LeBoeuf

Region player of the year – Dalaina Holmes, Fort LeBoeuf


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today