Lady Knights, Dragons each get pair of region all-stars

Eisenhower’s Patricia Bortz (14) battles Mercer’s Julia Balaski (6) for possession during the first half of their District 10 1A quarterfinal playoff match at Greenville High School, Tuesday, Oct. 23, 2018.



The Eisenhower and Warren girls soccer teams each had a pair of players selected as region all-stars Sunday.

For the Lady Knights, defense ruled the day as defenders Rachel Frederick (first-team) and Patricia Bortz (second-team) received Region 3 nods.

Their defensive prowess kept Eisenhower in the thick of the Region 3 race. Bortz elevated her game to help the offensive cause as well, while Frederick improved on her shut down defense from a year ago.

Warren senior Mackenzie Bickling gets set to fire a shot during the first half of Wednesday’s game against Franklin on Senior Night. Bickling scored three goals in the 8-1 Lady Dragon win.

“Rachel is an impenetrable force in the back field,” Eisenhower coach Diana Elmquist said. “She is a strong leader on the field and gives direction to the entire team.

“Patricia is a blaze of speed and a wall of force and skill as a defender,” she continued. “Her work ethic is second to none . . . and it shows on the field. She is able to outrun almost everyone for the entire 90 minutes.”

In Region 6, Mackenzie Bickling earned a first-team selection, while Jessica Susz earned second-team honors. This is the third straight year each player has been selected to the region all-star team.

Bickling racked up her second-straight 20-goal season in 2018, despite the Dragons being moved into a region that included perennial District 10 powerhouses McDowell and Hickory. Susz, a defenseman, scored a handful of goals for the Dragons, and often led the charge from defense to offense.

Seneca’s Madison Hoover was Region 3 Player of the Year, while Hickory’s Natalie Bell took home those honors in Region 6.

Warren’s Jessica Susz (33) passes the ball away from Meadville’s Olivia Steinbeck (28) during the second half of their match at War Memorial Field, Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2018. The Dragons defeated the Bulldogs, 5-4.

The full teams follow.

– – –


First team

Olyvia Lozano Iroquois 12 GK

Madison Hoover Seneca 12 M

Madison Fletcher Seneca 12 F

Cassidy Hall Seneca 12 M

Addy D’Antonio Seneca 12 F

Brenna Repko Cambridge Springs 12 M

Courtney Kegerreis Iroquois 10 F

Kenna Brady Seneca 12 D

Jessica Cass Seneca 11 D

Lexie Burdick Cambridge Springs 11 D

Marlee Edwards Seneca 10 D

Rachel Frederick Eisenhower 11 D

Second team

Madison Yanc Cambridge Springs 9 GK

Samantha Hartman Seneca 10 M

Jennifer Chamberlain Maplewood 12 M

McKenzie Smith Iroquois 11 M

Rebecca Pound Seneca 11 F

Abrianna Phillips Maplewood 11 M

Sarah Kegerreis Iroquois 10 M

Ella Nicholson Cambridge Springs 10 F

Veruca Plott Seneca 11 D

Patricia Bortz Eisenhower 11 D

Olivia Marzka-Scarlett Iroquois 10 D

Haylie West Maplewood 12 D

Region champion – Seneca

Region player of the year – Madison Hoover, Seneca


First team

Molly Piso Hickory 11 GK

Kari May McDowell 11 GK

Natalie Bell Hickory 12 F

Kylee Cross McDowell 11 M

Alayna Wicker McDowell 10 F

Jessica White Hickory 12 M

Mackenzie Bickling Warren 12 M

Krista Malina McDowell 12 M

Gianna Cataloni Hickory 12 D

Natalia Corrales McDowell 11 D

Kaitlyn O’Kresik Hickory 12 D

Marissa Momeyer McDowell 11 D

Second team

Lauren Dietirch Erie 11 GK

Joyce Lee Erie 12 F

Santina Masters Hickory 9 M

Kayla Saylor Hickory 10 F

Elizabeth Pirrello Erie 12 M

Carla Murtha Hickory 11 M

Elizabeth Adams Meadville 11 M

Megan Rosenthal McDowell 11 M

Katie Violi Hickory 12 D

Jada May McDowell 11 D

Izabella Otteni Erie 12 D

Jessica Susz Warren 11 D

Region co-champions – Hickory, McDowell

Region player of the year – Natalie Bell, Hickory


First team

Sonora Knauff Sharpsville 12 GK

Bailey Grossman Mercer 10 GK

Lena Welker Wilmington 12 M

Ava Krepp Wilmington 10 M

Emily Huff Wilmington 10 M

Lindsey Martineau Wilmington 9 F

Reese Walker Wilmington 9 F

Brie Lepore Kennedy Catholic 12 M

Emma Juergens Mercer 10 M

Sydney Detky Sharpsville 12 F

Jessica Huff Wilmington 12 D

Alexis Lambert Wilmington 10 D

Emma Hill Wilmington 10 D

Sara Ruth Wilmington 11 D

Giulia Commisso Sharpsville 12 D

Darby Miller Mercer 11 D

Second team

Gianna Lepore Kennedy Catholic 10 GK

Karlissa Richmond West Middlesex 12 F

Kendall Patterson Kennedy Catholic 12 F

Anna Williams Wilmington 9 M

Arielle Reiser Mercer 11 M

Peyton Miller Mercer 10 M

Devyn Bailey Mercer 9 M

Madison Devita Kennedy Catholic 11 D

Kaiya Garrett West Middlesex 10 D

Leah Lombardi Kennedy Catholic 12 D

Emalee Hostetler Mercer 11 D

Region champion – Wilmington

Region player of the year – Lena Welker, Wilmington


First team

Madison Hawthorne Greenville 12 GK

Julia Hart Slippery Rock 10 GK

Kayla Daugherty Slippery Rock 11 M

Ellie Reiser Slippery Rock 11 M

Sam Harriett Slippery Rock 12 M

Isabel Serrano Greenville 11 F

Abbey McComb Sharon 12 F

Kate Levitt Sharon 12 M

Emily Sarver Slippery Rock 12 D

Tessa McHattie Slippery Rock 12 D

Jess Mannion Conneaut (Ohio) 12 D

Emily Mannion Conneaut (Ohio) 12 D

Elisa Serrano Greenville 11 D

Lauryn Parry Sharon 12 D

Second team

Sydney Carpenter Conneaut (Ohio) 12 F

Claire Eaton Conneaut (Ohio) 9 F

Skylar Smith Greenville 11 F

Isabella McCollum Greenville 11 M

Julia Day Sharon 11 M

Kylie Newhart Conneaut (Ohio) 11 M

Ashley Shea Slippery Rock 10 D

Makayla Berkson Sharon 11 D

Alaina Williams Sharon 11 D

Alyssa Schreiber Greenville 11 D

Region champion – Slippery Rock

Region player of the year – Ellie Reiser, Slippery Rock


First team

Ashley Van Damia Mercyhurst Prep 10 GK

Angela Van Damia Mercyhurst Prep 12 M

Sarah Fails Villa Maria 12 F

Kaitlyn Kneidinger Mercyhurst Prep 12 F

Yeshim Onipede Mercyhurst Prep 12 M

Emily Yaple Villa Maria 11 M

Ashley Michaels Mercyhurst Prep 11 M

Rebecka Habursky Mercyhurst Prep 9 M

Izzi Schoonover Villa Maria 11 F

Abby Grychowski Villa Maria 12 M

Jillian Ball Mercyhurst Prep 11 D

Kailey Orlando Villa Maria 12 D

Claire Johnson Mercyhurst Prep 12 D

Kate Rose Harbor Creek 11 D

Abby Godlewski Villa Maria 11 D

Second team

Alex Velez Villa Maria 11 GK

Chyna Hicks Girard 10 GK

Cambrie Longo Villa Maria 12 M

Sara Westcott Fairview 12 M

Rylee Glover Fairview 12 M

Lily Brak Harbor Creek 11 F

Lilly Sanders Fairview 9 F

Katie Wall Harbor Creek 11 M

Hope McQueeney Harbor Creek 12 M

Lauren Fletcher Mercyhurst Prep 12 D

Rylee Schumacher Mercyhurst Prep 12 D

Kennedy Deuterman Villa Maria 12 D

Maddi Glover Fairview 10 D

Region co-champions – Mercyhurst Prep, Villa Maria

Region player of the year – Sarah Fails, Villa Maria


First team

Karly Froess Fort LeBoeuf 12 GK

Kayla Papale Fort LeBoeuf 12 F

Jordyn Cook North East 12 F

Skylar Riedel Corry 9 M

Torsha McCall Fort LeBoeuf 10 M

Mackenzie Huston Fort LeBoeuf 9 M

Marissa Keith North East 12 F

Amanda Sterling Corry 12 F

Lizzy Alexander Fort LeBoeuf 12 D

Madi Alexander Fort LeBoeuf 9 D

Kendra Wilson Fort LeBoeuf 11 D

Payton Hopkins North East 12 D

Second team

Lizzie Gordon Corry 11 GK

Maggie Morrison Fort LeBoeuf 9 F

Teresa Leonard North East 11 M

Lindsey Kemp Titusville 12 M

Mercede Myers North East 9 F

Marisa Badaracco Fort LeBoeuf 11 M

Alexandria Damond North East 10 M

Emily Culver Conneaut 12 D

Emma Cartney Titusville 11 D

Taylor May North East 12 D

Andrea Walker Fort LeBoeuf 10 D

Region champion – Fort LeBoeuf

Region player of the year – Kayla Papale, Fort LeBoeuf

*The all-region teams and region players of the year are based on voting by the region coaches.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today