Maurice Cashman recognized by Beacon Light

Photo provided to the Times Observer Maurice Cashman, center, was presented with the “B.E.A.C.O.N. Award” during a recent volunteer appreciation event. With Cashman are, left, Gregory LaRocca, Journey Health System’s board chair and Guy Signor, Journey Health System’s President and CEO.

Maurice Cashman has been recognized by Beacon Light for his work on the organization’s board.

Also a former mayor and current member of Warren City Council, Cashman was presented with the “B.E.A.C.O.N.” Award – the Being an Enthusiastic Advocate For Community and Organizational Needs. It’s an award presented annually “to an individual who exemplifies service to the Beacon Light companies,” Beacon Light said in a statement.

“Whether he is at work, with his family, or in the community, Maury is passionate,” said Guy Signor, president and CEO. “Maury is an enthusiastic advocate not only for Beacon Light, but the entire community of Warren.”

Cashman has served on the Beacon Light Behavioral Health System board for 15 years as well as a member of the Journey Health System board.

“Maury’s extensive involvement underscores his profound dedication to fostering excellence and driving positive change within both Beacon Light and Journey Health System,” the organization said in a statement.

“I wish to thank Maury for his dedication to Beacon Light and Journey Health System,” Jennifer Gesing, executive director of Beacon Light Behavioral Health System, added.

“He’s always been available to me to offer advice, help establish relationships in the Warren community and make Beacon Light a better place.”

“I did not set out to win this award 15 years ago,” Cashman said. “However, my goal was to be the best board member that I could be by bringing my strengths in finance and my business background to the organization. This continues to (be my) goal going forward.”

The award was presented at the organization’s annual board and donor appreciation event recently in Bradford.

“Years of Service” milestone awards were presented to: Craig Hartburg for 35 years; Richard Esch and David Ferguson for 20 years; Anne Albright, Dee Baxter, Cashman, Jean Hvizdzak and Gregory LaRocca for 15 years; Bill Chapman, Karen Costello-Pecht and Cindy Zembryki for 10 years and Norm Strotman for five years of service.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today