A look at Tuesday’s primary ballot

Tuesday is Election Day.

Pennsylvania’s Primary Election is set for April 23, one of the latest in the nation.

That means the presidential primary – the headliner in the 2024 election cycle – was wrapped up well in advance of Tuesday.

But there are some contested races down the ballot.

Polls open at 7 a.m. on Tuesday and will close at 8 p.m.

At the top of the ticket, a Donald Trump – Joe Biden rematch is set, though Republican Nikki Haley and Democrat Dean Phillips are also on the ballot.

But county voters will see more than one name on each side of the ticket – Nikki Haley will appear on the primary ballot for Republicans while Dean Phillips, a member of the Minnesota House delegation, is set to be on the Democratic ballot, according to information from the Department of State.

Other General Election contests are also settled due to a lack of challengers in the primary.

That includes one of Pennsylvania’s two Senate seats where incumbent Democrat Bob Casey is set to be challenged by Republican Dave McCormick, who unsuccessfully challenged Mehmet Oz for the Senate seat ultimately secured by John Fetterman in 2022.

At the federal level, Congressman Glenn Thompson is seeking an additional term. He’s unopposed on the Republican side.

He will have a Democratic challenger – Zacheray Womer of Philipsburg, who is unopposed in his primary.

At the state level, Warren County is part of the 65th District in the House and 21st District in the Senate.

Incumbents Rep. Kathy Rapp and Sen. Scott Hutchinson are unopposed in their primary, though local business owner Erin Willman has announced a write-in campaign against Rapp.

Several state-wide races do stand to be contested this fall.

Attorney General Michelle Henry is not seeking election so that role is up for grabs. Two Republicans are running in the primary – Dave Sunday and Craig Williams – while five Democrats are seeking their party nomination including Keir Bradford-Gray, Eugene DePasquale, Joe Khan, Jared Solomon and Jack Stollsteimer.

Two Republican incumbents are seeking second terms – Treasurer Stacy Garrity and Auditor General Tim DeFoor.

Malcolm Kenyatta and Mark Pinsley are vying for the Democratic nomination to challenge DeFoor while Ryan Bizzarro and Erin McClelland are seeking the Democratic nomination for treasurer.

Voters will also elect delegates to the Republican and Democratic national conventions by Congressional District. Republicans will see tight names on the ballot in addition to two alternates while four Democrats will appear on that side of the ticket. None of those individuals are from Warren County.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today