Polls open at 7 a.m. for primary

Statewide intrigue highlights today’s primary election ballot.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and will remain open for anyone in line by 8 p.m.

The party nominations for Senate have grabbed significant national headlines.

Dr. Mehmet Oz — with the endorsement of former President Donald Trump in hand — has polled at the top of the race for the GOP nomination for several months in what had looked like a two-man race with David McCormick.

A late charge in the polling from Kathy Barnette has added a layer of interest to the primary.

Voters will see four additional candidates on the ballot, as well — George Bochetto, Jeff Bartos, Sean Gale and Carla Sands.

Current Lt. Gov. John Fetterman has polled in a commanding position on the Democratic side but it hasn’t been smooth sailing recently as he recovers from a stroke.

Conor Lamb, Alexandria, Khalil and Malcom Kenyatta round out the Democratic ballot for Senate.

There will be only one name on the ballot for Democrats in the governor’s race — current Attorney General Josh Shapiro.

State Sen. Doug Mastriano has polled at the top of the GOP field for governor though national political outlets including Politico have written about concern among elements of the state GOP about his electability in the fall.

Mastriano is just one of nine Republicans on the ballot including Lou Barletta, Nche Zama, David White, Melissa Hart, Bill McSwain, Charles Gerow, Joseph Gale and Jake Corman.

Republican voters will also have to sort out a wide-ranging field for lieutenant governor — Clarice Schillinger, James Jones, Richard Saccone, John Brown, Christopher Frye, Jeff Coleman, Russ Diamond, Carrie Delrosso and Teddy Daniels.

Democrats will see three candidates for lieutenant governor — Austin Davis, Raymond Sosa and Brian Sims.

Congressman Glenn Thompson and state Representative Kathy Rapp are unopposed on both the Republican and Democratic sides meaning they will in all likelihood sail through to new terms this fall.

The only local races are for county GOP and Democratic Committee as well as the party state committees. County Commissioner Jeff Eggleston is the sold Democrat looking for election to the state party while three Republicans are vying for two spots – Heidi Palmer Villella, Ash Khare and Joe Michaels.

Below are the various polling places throughout the county: Warren Central, Warren County Courthouse; Warren South, Warren West, Salvation Army, 311 Beech St.; Warren North, Warren East and Warren Southeast, Holy Redeemer Center, Pennsylvania Ave.; Bear Lake, Bear Lake Youth & Family Center, 330 Center St.; Clarendon, Borough Building, 15 N. Main St.; Sugar Grove, Fire Hall, 2 Wilson St.; Tidioute, Fire Hall, 228 Main St.; Youngsville, Fire Hall, 228 E. Main St.; Brokenstraw Twp., Township Building, 770 Rouse Ave.; Cherry Grove, Twp., Fire Hall, 6039 Cherry Grove Rd.; Columbus Twp., Social Hall, 4 W. Main St.; Conewango Township #1, North Warren Presbyterian Church, 3 Church St.; Conewango Township #2, Starbrick Fire Hall, 5 Firemans Rd.; Deerfield, Township Building, 4638 Morrison Hill Rd.; Eldred, Grand Valley VFD; Elk, Scandia Fire Hall, 5950 Scandia Rd.; Farmington, Lander Fire Hall, 5555 Rt. 957; Freehold, Township Building, 139 Lottsville Niobe Rd.; Glade, Fire Hall, 14 Hohman Rd.; Limestone, Township Building, Hill Dr.; Mead, Township Building, 119 Mead Blvd.; Pine Grove, Russell Fire Hall, 66 Perrigo Ln.; Pittsfield, Township Building, 488 Dalrymple Rd.; Pleasant, Fire Department Social Hall, 40 Fuller Ave.; Sheffield, Fire Hall, 318 S. Main St.; Southwest, Enterprise United Methodist Church; Spring Creek, Fire Hall, 6345 Rt. 426; Sugar Grove Twp., Chandlers Valley Community Center; Triumph, Township Building, 10390 Youngsville Rd., Tidioute; Watson, Community Building, Route 337, Tidioute.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today