Photo submitted to Times Observer The Audubon Community Nature Center Birdathon 2020 scholarship fundraiser is Saturday, May 2. Instead of gathering in groups to begin their quests, this year participants are invited to form their own teams of no more than four people who already have regular contact with each other.

Birdathon 2020

With the need for social distancing, Audubon Community Nature Center (ACNC) is taking a different approach to its Birdathon 2020 fundraiser on Saturday, May 2.

The rain-or-shine event raises money for the Ryan Exline Memorial Fund that awards $500 to a local student pursuing a natural sciences career or education and supports the animal habitats at ACNC.

Normally you would be invited to join Audubon Education Staff and volunteers to see as many birds as you can on this one-day-only bird count.

This year, participants are asked to form their own teams of no more than four people.

The team must all be members of the same household or already have regular contact with each other, such as a babysitter, grandparent, co-worker, etc.

As long as they maintain social distance, teams are welcome to bird at Audubon or any location of their choosing. Individuals who are unable to go outdoors are invited to count the species in their own yards or at their own feeders.

The Ryan Exline Scholarship is named in memory of one of its first recipients. An Audubon volunteer, intern, nature-lover, and Duke University graduate student, Exline, of Russell, died in a car accident 11 years ago at the age of 22. His love of nature and of nurturing future generations of “nature nerds” lives on through this scholarship.

This year, the focus is on the scholarship as well as improvements to animal habitats, specifically for Ebenezer, Audubon’s Wood Turtle, and possibly start-up funds for the Snapping Turtle’s habitat as well.

Supporters can pledge to donate an amount for each species identified or to make a direct donation for the cause.

Those who choose to donate directly to the fund can do so online to the Ryan Exline Memorial Fund at AudubonCNC.org/Donate.

Those who want to pledge per species can call ACNC at (716) 569-2345 or email Education Coordinator Sarah Hatfield at SHatfield@AudubonCNC.org. She would also need to know if you would like to form a team to send you guidelines, instructions, and species lists.

Glade Township

Glade Township Clean-up Day, scheduled for May 9, has been canceled.

COG meeting canceled

Due to COVID-19, the Council of Governments (COG) meeting scheduled for Wednesday, May 6, at Conewango Township Municipal Building has been cancelled.

Contact Dan Glotz at dglotz@warren-county.net if you have questions or need information.

PA Route 6 meeting postponed

Due to uncertainty related to the coronavirus, the PA Route 6 Educational Summit and Annual Meeting, originally scheduled for May 13 and 14, has been rescheduled to August 5 and 6. The events will occur at the same time and same location.

This year’s events will begin on Wednesday, Aug. 5, with the Educational Summit at the Thomas L. Kane Memorial Chapel featuring speakers on historic preservation and adaptive reuse, sustainable volunteering and community engagement. Designed for Chambers of Commerce, economic development groups and businesses, the workshop will feature a discussion on how communities can learn new ways to engage an active and attractive community.

On Wednesday afternoon, Kane will present its own story in a walking tour of the Kane Depot, Temple Theater renovations and downtown business revitalization. A reception sponsored by the Allegheny National Forest Visitors Bureau will be held at Logyard Brewing following the tour.

On Thursday, Aug. 6, the Annual Meeting and “Do 6” Awards will begin at 10 a.m. at Grandma Bairs Event Center in Kane.

The Annual Meeting includes a period of networking and sponsor displays, followed by the PA Route 6 Annual Business Meeting and a presentation on the accomplishments in 2019. This year, Judge Cleland from McKean County will be the keynote speaker.

The annual “Do 6” Awards Ceremony will follow. The ceremony, honors individuals, organizations, and events in the categories of: Heritage Partnership Award; Leadership Award; Heritage Community of the Year Award; Heritage Tourism Award; Artisan of the Year Award; and Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information on participation, registration forms, and sponsorship opportunities, visit online at https://paroute6.com/2020-educational-summit-and-annual-meeting.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today