Knowles, Disshon earn all-star nods

Nicholas Knowles breaks from the role of lineman to carry the ball in the closing minutes of Saturday’s loss to visiting Otto-Eldred.

A pair of Sheffield football players were selected to District 9 Small School North all-star team.

Offensive lineman Nick Knowles and linebacker Jacob Disshon were selected as part of the division’s first-ever all-star squad.

Knowles was a four-year starter on the o-line for the Wolverines. This year, the senior anchored the line and delivered at least seven pancake blocks during the year.

Disshon was a force for Sheffield defensively. He racked up 78 total tackles on the year, with 22 for loss. He also added three sacks on the season.

Smethport and Coudersport dominated play during the inaugural District 9 Small School North division season, with the Hubbers taking the division, and the Falcons winning the league title.

That dominance was reflected in the all-star roster as the two teams combined for an impressive 19 all-star selections.

Smethport’s Blake Kinner was the Offensive MVP, with Otto-Eldred’s Chris Connelly taking home Defensive MVP honors.

The full team follows.

– – –

District 9 Small School North All-star team


Quarterback: Grant Ognen, Smethport

Running back: Stephen Kelly, Coudersport; Blake Kinner, Smethport

Wide receiver: Alex Sanderson, Smethport; Chris Connelly, Otto-Eldred; Cameron Magee, Otto-Eldred; Chase Sebastian, Otto-Eldred

Tight end: Dale Burdick, Smethport

Offensive line: Elijah Ayers, Coudersport; Brandon Goss, Coudersport; Ian Woodruff, Smethport; Bradley LaFleur, Smethport; Nick Knowles, Sheffield

Return specialist: Braedon Johnson, Smethport

Place kicker: Noah Costa, Smethport


Defensive line: Dalton Distrola, Port Allegany; Travis Gleason, Coudersport; Brandt Kightlinger, Coudersport; Trey Lee, Otto-Eldred; Brady Valerius, Otto-Eldred

Linebackers: Hayden Keck, Coudersport; Kolby VanWhy, Coudersport; Travis Cooney, Smethport; Jacob Disshon, Sheffield

Cornerback: Logan Christie, Smethport; Cole Sebastian, Otto-Eldred

Safety: Dillon Keglovits, Coudersport; Nathan Hollowell, Smethport

Punter: Ebon Jackson, Cameron County


Running back: Joshua Rees, Port Allegany

Cornerback: Nick Peters, Cameron County


Offensive lineman of the year: Elijah Ayers, Coudersport

Defensive lineman of the year: Travis Gleason, Coudersport; Trey Lee, Otto-Eldred

Offensive MVP: Blake Kinner, Smethport

Defensive MVP: Chris Connelly, Otto-Eldred

Coach of the year: Adam Jack, Smethport