Knights up and down the list of Region 2 stars

Garrett Head (2)

To illustrate just how bad Eisenhower football’s luck was this season, consider they went 2-8 and outscored their opponents 249-241.

The Knights were in every single game they played this season, and were rewarded with five Region 2 All-Stars.

Garrett Head (wide receiver), Joe Bauer (defensive line), Ethan Chambers (linebacker) and Riley West (defensive back) were all first team selections, while Jeremy Card (offensive line), Bauer (offensive line), Chambers (running back) and Head (linebacker) were all second-team choices, as voted on by the Region 2 coaches

Head did a little bit of everything offense rushing for 184 yards and catching 19 passes for 287 yards and three touchdowns. On defense, he led the team in tackles with 93, nine of which went for loss, and two sacks.

Chambers had 53 tackles, 9.5 TFLs and an interception. Offensively, he was a workhorse running back, carrying the ball 200 times for 1,205 yards, an average of 6.0 yards per carry and 16 touchdowns.

Bauer and Card anchored the offensive line that paved the way for Chambers and also provided protection for the Knights’ passing game. Defensively, Bauer was a monster with 57 tackles, 16.5 of which went for a loss and four sacks.

West was a ballhawk in the defensive backfield with a team-leading eight passes defensed.

Union City’s Gavin Henry was named the Region 2 Player of the Year.

A full list of the Region 2 All-Stars can be found below.

– – –


First team


Cale Miller Cochranton 12 TE

Garrett Head Eisenhower 12 WR

Jesse McFadden Maplewood 9 WR

Kohl Bernarding Cochranton 12 QB

Gavin Henry Union City 12 RB

Chevy Blake Maplewood 12 RB

Curtis Freyermuth Cochranton 12 RB

Brayden Kinney Union City 12 AP

Matt Long Union City 12 OL

Jacob Kingsley Cambridge Springs 12 OL

Bryan Kelly Maplewood 11 OL

Matt Niedbala Maplewood 11 OL

Matt Krause Union City 11 OL

Kyle Wellman Maplewood 12 OL

Ryan Brooks Union City 11 OL

Special teams

Hunter Groger Maplewood 12 K

Ty Turner Cambridge Springs 12 P


Joe Bauer Eisenhower 12 DL

Matt Long Union City 12 DL

Jeremiah Hostetler Cochranton 12 DL

Matt Krause Union City 11 DL

Bryan Kelly Maplewood 11 DL

Ethan Chambers Eisenhower 12 LB

Chevy Blake Maplewood 12 LB

Jesse McFadden Maplewood 9 LB

Curtis Freyermuth Cochranton 12 LB

Tye Varndell Cambridge Springs 12 DB

JD McFadden Maplewood 11 DB

Camron Bienio Maplewood 12 DB

Riley West Eisenhower 12 DB

Second team


Jordon Hollabaugh Maplewood 12 TE

Jared Kula Saegertown 12 WR

Miles Parker Union City 12 WR

JD McFadden Maplewood 11 QB

Ethan Chambers Eisenhower 12 RB

Garrett Long Cochranton 12 AP

Joe Bauer Eisenhower 12 OL

Jeremiah Hostetler Cochranton 12 OL

Jeremy Card Eisenhower 12 OL

Special teams

Alex Wheeler Cambridge Springs 12 K

Curtis Freyermuth Cochranton 12 P


Jacob Kingsley Cambridge Springs 12 DL

Dylan Neff Cochranton 12 DL

Alex Wheeler Cambridge Springs 12 DL

Trent Wheeler Cambridge Springs 10 LB

Garrett Long Cochranton 12 LB

Garrett Head Eisenhower 12 LB

Ezra Mattocks Saegertown 12 LB

Brayden Kinney Union City 12 DB

Jon Gallo Cochranton 10 DB

Tristin Findlay Cambridge Springs 12 DB

Wyatt Barzak Cochranton 9 DB

Region champion – Union City

Region player of the year – Gavin Henry, Union City