Loutzenhiser, Ei, Hayes named First Team All-Stars

Eisenhower’s Jaydon Hayes (11) is fouled by Wilmington’s Cameron Marett (14) during the first quarter of their District 10 2A quarterfinal game at the Prep and Villa Events Center, Friday, Feb. 23, 2018.

A total of nine basketball players from Warren County earned District 10 All-Region honors, as voted on by league coaches and released on Monday.

For the girls, Warren’s Margo Loutzenhiser earned first team honors in Region 6 and for the boys, Eisenhower’s Jaydon Hayes was first team in Region 3, as was Warren’s Caleb Ei in Region 6.

Garnering second team honors for the girls were Warren’s Autumn Hultberg in Region 6, while Youngsville’s Caitlin Craig and Eisenhower’s Emily Wheeler garnered second team in Region 3.

For the boys, Eisenhower’s Tajah Warren was second team in Region 3, as was Youngsville’s Gage Hendrickson, while Warren’s Jake Kupchella was second team in Region 6.

Loutzenhiser, a junior and Hayes, a senior both surpassed the 1,000-point milestone this season.

Warren’s Caleb Ei gets fouled as he goes up for a shot during the second half against Harbor Creek.

Loutzenhiser averaged 20.8 points, 8.5 rebounds, 5.0 steals and 4.2 assists per game for a Lady Dragon team that finished just one win shy of advancing to the PIAA playoffs.

Hayes, meanwhile, averaged 19.6 ppg. and just under 10 rebounds per contest as the Knights, who had a 12-game regular season winning streak and finished second in Region 3.

Ei led the Dragons in scoring at 13.8 ppg and also averaged 5.1 rpg.

Craig and Wheeler each led their respective teams in scoring to earn their second team honors.

Hultberg was a difference maker for the Lady Dragons, averaging 9.1 ppg from her point guard spot while also playing stellar defense.

A speedy guard, Warren was a perfect compliment to Hayes for the Knights, scoring 10.1 ppg., while Hendrickson, a sophomore, averaged 11.2 ppg. to lead a youthful Eagles squad.

Kupchella averaged 12.0 ppg. for Warren and was one of the Dragons top perimeter threats.

– – –



First team

Jaydon Hayes Eisenhower 12

Turner Kurt Cambridge Springs 12

Kohl Bernarding Cochranton 11

Noah Reisenauer Cambridge Springs 12

Bronnan Higley Union City 11

Second team

Nick Bonniger Iroquois 12

Raheem Young Maplewood 12

Koby McLean Iroquois 12

Tajah Warren Eisenhower 12

Gage Hendrickson Youngsville 10

Region champion – Cambridge Springs

Region player of the year – Turner Kurt, Cambridge Springs

– – –

Region 6 All-Stars

First team

Josh Schreiber General McLane 12

Peyton Ennis Harbor Creek 12

Caleb Ei Warren 11

Irvin Comic Fort LeBoeuf 12

Seth Myers General McLane 11

Second team

Jake Kupchella Warren 11

Branden Elchynski Corry 11

Logan Donahue General McLane 11

Benjamin Johnson Harbor Creek 12

Albert Jiang Corry 12

Region champion – General McLane

Region player of the year – Josh Schreiber, General McLane

– – –

Region 3 All-Stars

First team

Maggie Hunter Maplewood 12

Alex Miller Cambridge Springs 12

Julia Mailliard Cambridge Springs 11

Kayla Freyermuth Cochranton 11

Isabelle Snyder Maplewood 11

Second team

Lilli Mason Cambridge Springs 12

Carlie Schlosser Saegertown 11

Jaidan Martinec Cochranton 10

Caitlin Craig Youngsville 12

Mollie Yanc Cambridge Springs 12

Emiley Wheeler Eisenhower 10

Haley Hess Saegertown 12

Katelyn Young Saegertown 10

Region champion – Cambridge Springs

Region player of the year – Maggie Hunter, Maplewood

– – –

Region 6 All-Stars

First team

Ali Benim Harbor Creek 11

Jamiya Eaddy Erie 12

Haley Kurelowech Corry 12

Margo Loutzenhiser Warren 11

Emina Seliminovic McDowell 9

Roshay Benjamin Erie 12

Latisha Baker Harbor Creek 11

Second team

Autumn Hultberg Warren 12

Julia Miller McDowell 10

Jordyn Hetz McDowell 10

Jenna Babay Harbor Creek 10

Laurel Prokopchak Harbor Creek 12

Region co-champions – Erie, Harbor Creek

Region co-players of the year – Jamiya Eaddy, Erie and Ali Benim, Harbor Creek