Eight Knights, two Eagles advance to Section I semifinals

Eisenhower’s Garrett Head (left) was one of eight Knights to advance to the semifinals in the Section I tournament at Union City.

UNION CITY – Eight Eisenhower Knights and a pair of Youngsville Eagles are through to the semifinals at the District 10 Section I tournament.

For the Knights, Logan Jaquay, Easton Hedman, Josh Bortz, Garrett Head, Spencer Head, Alex Barnett, Matt Huling and Joey Bauer advanced, as did Youngsville’s Aaron Morris and Mason Benjamin.

“I thought our guys wrestled pretty well,” said Eisenhower coach Kris Black. “It’s good to get eight guys into the semifinals. We were maybe a little bit rusty, but overall we wrestled well. You can’t win it on Day 1, but you can lose it.”

Jaquay (106) and Bauer (220) received byes into the semifinals.

At 113, it was a Eisenhower vs. Youngsville battle in the quarterfinals, as Hedman earned a third period pin (4:34) over Dustin Phelps.

Bortz had one of the more impressive performances for the Knights, earning a 9-2 decision over Union City’s Jayson Soliwoda at 126.

Garrett and Spencer Head both advanced via pin fall at 145 and 152 respectively at nearly identical times in the second period – Garrett in 2:44 against Saegertown’s Matt Posego and Spencer against Iroquois’ Andrew Kightlinger.

Garrett will meet Youngsville’s Morris in the semifinals, as the Eagle earned a strong 6-4 decision over Fort LeBoeuf’s Josh McCall.

Barnett, who has come on strong in the latter half of the season for the Knights, faced off against Corry’s Matt Petrilla and edged him 3-2 to move on.

“Alex Barnett wrestled a great match,” Black said. “It was a tight match, but he continued to go forward and make things happen. He did a great job to put himself into the semifinals.”

It was another Ike-Youngsville showdown at 195, with the Knights’ Huling besting Jake DeSimone via pin in 1:17.

At heavyweight, Benjamin was able to pin Fort LeBoeuf’s Lance McLaughlin at the 2:55 mark in the second period.

The semis and second round of consolations begins 10:30 a.m. Saturday. The tournament will conclude with the consolation finals and championship matches beginning at 6 p.m.

The top four in each weight class advance to the District 10 championships next weekend in Sharon.

“It’s different mindset for everybody,” Black said. “The guys in the semifinals, they know if they win their going to districts. We’ve been talking about it the last couple weeks, Just talking about finishing in the top four and finding a way through. The guys know they have some big obstacles in front of them, but we’ve really pushed that if you do lose, you’re ready to go for the next one. Guys in the consis, for them, they’re wrestling back through. Hopefully our guys are mentally strong. Physically we’re in good shape, we just have to be mentally strong.”

– – –



Munsee (C) dec. Clough (Y), 7-4

Eastman (NE) pinned Orton (FLB), 1:47

Jaquay (E) bye

Gabler (HC) bye




Burgess (UC) pinned Seman (NE) :23

Johnson (I) pinned Peterson (C), 3:07

Hedman (E) pinned Phelps (Y) 4:34

Kightlinger (SA) pinned Capan (HC) 1:55



Crowell (FLB) pinned McClelland (SE) :24

Reagle (SA) dec. Hurd (C), 9-4

Gardner (UC) pinned Wakefield (I) 1:46

Gabler (HC) pinned Williams (E) :37



Kiser (SA) bye

Bortz (E) dec. Soliwada (UC), 9-2

Schnars (NE) bye

Oosterkamp (HC) bye



Sallott (HC) bye

Barthlomew (SA) pinned Henry (UC) 5:07

Lapinski (C) dec. Huck (FLB), 4-0

Kopp (NE) maj. dec. N. Holt (E), 9-1



Perry (C) tech fall Haskins (UC), 21-3

Jefferson (SE) pinned Krewszeski (HC), 1:05

Beck (SA) pinned S. Holt (E) 2:45

Muscarella (NE) pinned Fehlman (Y) 3:22



G. Head (E) pinned Posego (SA) 2:44

Muscarella (NE) dec. Farmer (SE), 6-3

Morris (Y) dec. McCall (FLB), 6-4

Jaquith (UC) dec. Stafford (HC), 12-5



S. Head (E) pinned Reisenger (SA) 2:42

Curtis (C) pinned Berry (SE) 5:51

Waldman (UC) pinned Vanderhoof (NE) 2:22

Pace (FLB) pinned Charlton (HC) 1:31



Galvin (I) pinned McClure (SA) 2:13

Barnett (E) dec. Petrilla (C), 3-2

Burbules (FLB) pinned Phelps (SE) 1:36

Bratt (HC) tech fall Hedderick (UC), 23-6



Henry (UC) pinned Lorei (SE) :18

Lloyd (FLB) pinned Chambers (E) 5:49

Watkins (HC) pinned Hill (NE) :26

Burlew (C) pinned Luikart (SA) :35



Mulligan (SA) pinned Williamson (HC) :37

VanTassel (UC) pinned Gourley (C) 5:51

McCurdy (SE) pinned Hagberg (E) 2:17

Gorring (FLB) pinned Hoover (Y) :30



Folmar (HC) bye

Kaday (UC) pinned Gourley (C) 3:02

Huling (E) pinned DeSimone (Y) 1:17

Douglas (I) bye



Bauer (E) bye

Hedderick (UC) dec. Proctor (C) 6-0

Phelps (NE) pinned Kimmell (SA) 5:38

Viscuso (HC) pinned Evans (Y) 1:26



Long (UC) bye

Hoyt (NE) dec. Hazelett (SA), 3-0

Benjamin (Y) pinned McLaughlin (FLB), 2:55

Askins (HC) pinned Jordan (C), :30