Warren softball players Wortman, Wood, Lobdell named to Region 6 all-star team

Warren senior catcher Megan Wortman was voted a second team Region 6 All-Star after hitting .486 for the Lady Dragons this season.

Following a 13-7 season, three members of Warren’s softball team were rewarded with Region 6 all-star honors.

Catcher Megan Wortman, outfielder Gracie Wood and pitcher Ellie Lobdell were all named second team stars, as voted on by the region coaches.

Wortman was also named to the all-District 10 team.

For Wortman, it was a great end to a great high school softball career. She made the switch seamlessly from shortstop to catcher, and was a key bat in the No. 3 hole in the Lady Dragons’ lineup. She hit a team-leading .486 with 35 hits, 23 runs scored, seven doubles and 12 RBIs.

Wood and Lobdell, both sophomores, also turned in very impressive seasons.

Wood built on a strong freshman campaign, hitting .426 with 29 hits, 22 runs scored, 16 RBIs and five extra-base hits. She also patrolled center fielder, making a number of outstanding defensive plays throughout the course of the season.

Lobdell had a strong season on the mound, going 12-7 with a 2.32 ERA. She struck out 136 batters in 123 2/3 innings pitched. At the plate, she hit .382 and tied for the team lead in RBIs at 24 with freshman shortstop Alexis Nyquist.

Harbor Creek and Titusville were the region co-champions in what was a highly competitive year, with Karlee Szympruch and Emily Aul, both of Titusville, earning Region Player of the Year and Region Pitcher of the Year respectively.

The full teams are listed below.

– – –


First team

Karlee Szympruch, Titusville 12 C

Tia Waldron, Fort LeBoeuf 12 1B

Alexis Cubero, Corry 11 2B

Brienna Canter, Titusville 11 3B

Kaylee Szympruch, Titusville 12 SS

Kiele Hawke, Franklin 12 OF

Maeghan Wynn, Titusville 11 OF

Ali Benim, Harbor Creek 10 OF

Kalle Forcht, Harbor Creek 11 DP

Emily Aul, Titusville 11 P

Alex Miller, Harbor Creek 11 P

Second team

Megan Wortman, Warren 12 C

Hannah Perry, Franklin 12 1B

Morgan Harayda, Harbor Creek 11 1B

Lindsey Kemp, Titusville 10 2B

Ally Ludwig, Fort LeBoeuf 12 2B

Michaela Bell, Franklin 12 3B

Haley Kurelowech, Corry 11 SS

Meghan Haynes, Franklin 12 SS

Mollie Rafferty, Harbor Creek 11 SS

Ashley Van Horn, Harbor Creek 11 OF

Madison Vorpagel, Fort LeBoeuf 12 OF

Gracie Wood, Warren 10 OF

Alyssa Leithead, Titusville 11 DP

Ellie Lobdell, Warren 10 P

Gracie Stryffeler, Franklin 9 P

Region co-champions – Harbor Creek, Titusville

Region player of the year – Karlee Szympruch, Titusville