Warren wrestlers pin Oil City, 63-11

Warren Alex Weston (right) battles Oil City’s Cameron Myers during their 132-pound match on Wednesday.

Warren looked impressive in beating the Oil City Oilers at Joseph A. Massa gymnasium Wednesday, 63-11.

The Dragons opened up with a pin by Jake Engstrom at 138 – the first of many. The rest of the night consisted of quick pins from Warren, and forfeits from Oil City.

Pins came from Engstrom, Owen Balas, Blake Ristau, Nick DeSimone, Jake Fankhouser and John Fankhouser. Liam Stevenson, Dominic Caprino, Riley Zaffino and Matt Ristau all took forfeits, helping the scoreboard look good with 18 extra points.

Balas and John Fankhouser faced some challenging matches, with Balas pinning Ethan Deloe in the third period and Fankhouser pinning his in the second.

Oil City’s Carter Stanley earend a tech. fall over Warren’s Ryan Madigan.

“We keep improving as the season moves along,” said Warren coach Dean Johnson. “They wrestled well and we got some bonus points on the board from the forfeits. We have a couple of kids out due to illness. We’ll get them healthy and back on the mat in no time.”

The Dragons will be back in action next Wednesday against Conneaut, Ohio. Coach Johnson says “We’ll be ready to take them on.”

– – –


138: Jake Engstrom (W) pinned Duane Clark (OC) :54

145: Owen Balas (W)  pinned Ethan Deloe (OC) 4:54

152: Nick Bobson (OC) dec. Brett Cummings (W)  6-4

160: Blake Ristau (W) pinned Colton Sutley (OC) 1:25

170: Nick DeSimone (W) pinned Kaden Greib (OC) 1:23

182: Liam Stevenson (W) forfeit

195: Dominic Caprino (W) forfeit

220: Riley Zaffino (W) forfeit

285: Matt Ristau (W) forfeit

106: Carter Stanley (OC) tech fall Ryan Madigan (W) 4:22

113: Travis Trauterman (OC) dec. Alex Anderson (W) 12-10, OT

120: Jake Fankhouser (W) pinned Michael Helpling (OC) 1:03

126: John Fankhouser (W) pinned Nick Clark (OC) 3:41

132: Alex Weston (W) dec. Cameron Myers (OC) 7-2

Junior High

210: Brayden Crocker (OC) pinned Billy Anderson (W) 1:02

145: Kevin VanWomer (OC) dec. Joey Arnold (W) 10-5

130: Cody Deloe (OC) dec. Tyler Noe (W) 14-12

138: Kyle Swick (W) dec. Seth Yeager (OC) 5-3

EX. Billy Anderson (W) maj. dec. Tanner Hargenrader (OC) 13-4

EX. Joe Letko (W) pinned Cody Deloe (OC) 4:08

EX. Seth Yeager (OC) dec. Alex Zeigler (W)