Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | All Access e-Edition | Home RSS

Ripley Central Holds Graduation

July 3, 2008
Times Observer
The Ripley Central School Class of 2008 held its One-Hundred and Ninth Annual Commencement Exercises on Saturday, June 28, 2008 at 10:00 a.m. in the large gymnasium of the school. The graduates processed into the large gymnasium to “Pomp and Circumstance” accompanied by Charles Meyer on piano.

The Senior Class President Trent Johnston gave the welcome and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Caitlin Scully sang The National Anthem. Trent Johnston introduced the Valedictorian Chelsey Bowen who gave her Valedictory address, followed by the Salutatory address of Abram Rowe.

Keynote speakers Nancy Freitas and Deborah Chagnon, Ripley Central School Retired 6th grade teachers, spoke to the graduates. The choral presentations of the Ripley Concert Chorale, under the direction of Katherine Thornton, were “I Will Remember You” and “For Good”. Trent Johnston presented the Class Gift to the Big Buddy/Little Buddy Program.

Judith A. Rowe, Board of Education Vice President, and Nancy J. Rowe, Board Member spoke to the graduates.

High School Principal Susan A. Hammond presented the awards and Interim Superintendent John J. Hogan gave the Declaration of Graduation to the graduates of the Class of 2008, after which they received their diplomas from Board President Robert Bentley, John J. Hogan, and Susan Hammond. The ceremony closed with the singing of the RCS Alma Mater, and the Recessional accompanied by Charles Meyer.

Class Of 2008 Awards

Valedictorian Award-Chelsey Bowen

Salutatorian Award-Abram Rowe

Ripley Kiwanis/Grange Community Scholarship-Abram Rowe

Fairpoint Communication College Scholarship-Chelsey Bowen

New York State Scholarship for Academics-Chelsey Bowen and Trevor Rickenbrode

Ruth Barker Winch Scholarship-Trevor Rickenbrode

Orris C. Hirtzel and Beatrice Dewey Hirtzel Memorial Foundation Award-Hannah Eggleston

Jennifer R. Miller Scholarship Sponsored by Better Baked Foods, Inc.-Leah Weigle — Presented by Mrs. Karen Croscut-Miller

Dunkirk Area Labor Council Scholarship-Jason Fisher — Presented by Mr. Douglas Stock

Ripley Education Association Award — Nathan McCutcheon — Mr. Alex Reyda

Knights of Columbus Council #3100 Scholarship-Kayla Riefstahl — Presented by Mr. William Karrow

Westfield Kiwanis Key Club Award-Abram Rowe and Trent Johnston — Presented by Mr. William Karrow

Ripley Central School Key Club Award-Abram Rowe and Trent Johnston — Presented by Mr. William Karrow

Summit Lodge #219 Free and Accepted Masons of Westfield Beacon Award — Trent Johnston — Presented by Dr. John Hamels

John Potter Scholarship — Trent Johnston — Presented by Dr. John Hamels

Westfield-Mayville Rotary Scholarship-Trent Johnston and Alesa Smith — Presented by Dr. John Hamels

Frank C. Walzer Memorial Award-Jason Fisher and Corey Kramer — Presented by Mr. Frank T. Walzer

Martin D. Cary Memorial Award-Joshua Skinner — Presented by Mr. Robert Bentley

Ripley Central School Chorus Award — Caitlin Scully — Presented by Ms. Katherine Thornton

Career and Technical Education Certificates-Graphic Technology II — Amber Brooks, Rebecca Pratt, Jena Wilkinson Criminal Justice II-David Miller, Jr., Machine Trades/Metal II- Steven Barrett, Joseph Best, Patrick Bowman, Michael Gresh; Cosmetology II-Breanna Carris; Construction Technology-Jason Fisher; Diesel Mechanics II-Joshua Skinner

Awards Presented with Diplomas

Ripley Central School 50 Year Reunion Committee Annual Award — Samantha Eimers and Nathan McCutcheon

Wallace L. and Dorothy T. Johnson and the Clara McGinnes Johnson Scholarship — Chelsey Bowen

Lillian T. and Norris C. Hawkins Memorial Scholarship — Chelsey Bowen

Laura H. Johnson Social Studies Award — Nathan McCutcheon

Ripley Women’s Club English Award — Chelsey Bowen

Stephanie Kasper Memorial Award — Bethany Belson

American Legion Post #351 Francis Earl Gregory Citizenship Award — Bethany Belson and Jason Fisher

Ripley Central School Citizenship Award-Bethany Belson and Nathan McCutcheon

Community Service Award Sponsored by the Ripley Hose Company Auxiliary-Jason Fisher

Ripley Hose Company Physical Education Award-Samantha Eimers and Trent Johnston

Darlene Williams Fagenbaum Memorial Award-Samantha Eimers

America Legion Post #351 Ralph V. Hubbard Memorial Scholarship-Bethany Belson

Perseverance Award-Jennifer Sanford

Alvin N. Vere Achievement Award-Samantha Eimers and Nathan McCutcheon

Laura A. Kelly Memorial Scholarship-Nathan McCutcheon

Dick Archer Memorial Scholarship-Leah Weigle

Women of the Moose Post #517 Memorial Scholarship-Tabitha Fargo

Journey Award-All Ripley Central School Seniors


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web