The list of candidates so far as petitions roll in

A total of eight candidates are seeking election as one of Warren County’s three commissioners while five candidates are seeking seats on Warren City Council.

The deadline to file a petition to be on the primary ballot was Tuesday at 4:30 p.m.

The primary is set for May 21.

Director of Elections Lisa Rivett said the candidate list is unofficial as she will still need to account for petitions filed late in the day.

She said that the next major step in the process is March 20 at 9 a.m. in the Commissioners Conference Room at the courthouse. That’s when candidates will draw for ballot positions.

Rivett added that the last day to challenge a candidate’s signatures is March 19 and the last day for someone who filed to withdraw be removed from the ballot is March 27.

In the City of Warren, the seats of current councilmen Phil Gilbert, Richard Kolcharno and John Lewis are up for election in this cycle.

Gilbert, a democrat, is the only one of the three seeking re-election.

Democrats Douglas Hearn and Aaron Stearns as well as Republicans John Wortman and Christian Zavinski have thrown their hats in the ring for the primary.

That assures – with three seats available – that there will be races for at least two of those three available seats.

The office of commissioner is the lone contested race at the county level.

Voters will vote for two and there are five Republicans and three Democrats – including the current board of commissioners – seeking office.

Republicans include Shawn Silvis of Limestone Township, Tricia Durbin of Warren, Cindy Morrison of Glade Township, Ben Kafferlin of Spring Creek Township and Judy Albaugh of Conewango Township.

On the Democratic side, candidates include Paul Giannini of Warren, Jeff Eggleston of Warren and Connie Zaffino of Pleasant Township.

Several other county offices will be on the ballot but are uncontested.

Seeking re-election include Register & Recorder Lori Bimber, Sheriff Ken Klakamp and Treasurer Dennis Munksgard. All three are Republicans.

All three auditors – Sue Swanson (R), Rick Hutley (R) and Heleena Swanson (D) – as well as Prothonotary & Clerk of Courts Jennifer Phillips (R) are all also running unopposed.

On the Warren County School District board of directors, the exact same number of candidates filed petitions as there are seats available.

In Region I, Arthur Stewart is seeking re-election as are Donna Zariczny and Joe Colosimo in Region II. In Region III, Marcy Morgan is also seeking another term. All four candidates cross-filed on both the Republican and Democratic tickets. In Region II, Kevin Lindvay of Pine Grove Township filed solely as a Republican.