Get out and vote

Several local races to be decided in today’s general election

Tuesday’s General Election might be best described as one with little intrigue.

But – in addition to state-wide judgeships – there are several races in Warren County to be decided.

While Maurice Cashman will be the sole candidate on the ballot for mayor in the City of Warren, local business owner Dan Ristau is conducting a write-in campaign against Cashman.

Ristau unsuccessfully ran against Cashman on the Democratic ticket four years ago.

Three seats are up on Warren City Council with a total of five candidates seeking those spots – incumbent Republicans John Lewis and James Zavinski as well as incumbent Democrat Gregory Fraser and Democrats Paul Giannini and Scott Baxter.

There are also five candidates for four seats on Sugar Grove Borough Council – Democrat Julie Greenman and Republicans Kevin McIntyre, Linda Strand, David Bauer and Kevin Nicklas.

Several county-wide positions will be decided though all incumbents are running un-opposed.

Those include District Attorney Rob Greene, Prothonotary & Clerk of Courts Susan Kosinski and Coroner Jerry Borden.

Two magisterial district justices are also presumed to be elected – Raymond Zydonik to take the seat of current MDJ Glenn Carlson and incumbent Laura Bauer.

At the state level, Superior Court candidate Judge Wade Kagarise and Commonwealth Court candidate Judge Christine Fizzano Cannon, both Republicans, both visited Warren County last week.

Republican Sallie Mundy will face off against Democrat Dwayne Woodruff for a seat on the Supreme Court while retention votes will be held for current justices Thomas Saylor and Debra Todd.

Four seats are up on the Superior Court. In addition to Kagarise, Republican candidates include Lancaster County District Attorney Craig Steadman, Northampton Court of Common Pleas Judge Emil Giordano and Allegheny County Magisterial District Judge Mary Murray.

Democratic candidates include incumbent H. Geoffrey Moulton, Jr., Philadelphia County Court of Common Pleas Judge Carolyn H. Nichols, Philadelphia County Court of Common Pleas Judge Maria McLaughlin and Beaver County Court of Common Pleas Judge Deborah A. Kunselman in addition to Green Party candidate Jules Mermelstein.

Judge Jacqueline Shogan is also up for retention on Superior Court.

For Commonwealth Court, Fizzano Cannon and Republican colleague Paul Lalley are challenged by five Democrats – incumbent Joseph Cosgrove, Todd Eagen, Ellen Ceisler, Bryan Barbin, W. Timothy Barry and Irene McLaughlin Clark for two seats on the bench.