Photo submitted to Times Observer Two graduating Warren County seniors were awarded $1,500 scholarships at the Clarendon Marshall Larsen Post 314 VFW/AMVETS Memorial Day service. Pictured are (from left) Quartermaster Kyle Johnson; Hayley Corbin, Sheffield Area High School, who will be attending Slippery Rock University; Adam Irwin, Warren Area High School, who will be attending St. Bonaventure University; and Post Commander David Progar.

Rummage sale

Warren First Church of the Nazarene youth group rummage sale & car wash Friday and Saturday June 1 and 2 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at 907 Pennsylvania Ave East Warren Pa 16365. All sales are donations benefit students going to Nazarene Youth Confrence.

Class lunch

The WHS Class of 1959 will meet at 12:30 p.m. on Tuesday, June 5, at Cable Hollow Golf Course in Akeley to have lunch (facility is handicap-accessible). Guests and spouses are always welcome.

Halls Of Ivy

Photo submitted for publication Warren County Penn State alumni have awarded $1,500 in scholarships to Lexie Grubbs of Sheffield (left), Branden Wilson of Youngsville (right) and Delanie Marquis of Eisenhower (not pictured). Scholarships are funded by a legacy from former WAHS teacher/coach Tony Scordo and contributions from local Penn State alumni.

Jamestown Business College has announced the President’s and Dean’s Lists for the Spring 2018 term. To qualify for the President’s List, a student must earn a 3.90-4.00 grade point average for a term. To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must earn a 3.60-3.89 grade point average for a term. Students from the Warren area include:

President’s List

Rachel Enos (Sugar Grove)

Lily Fitch (Warren)

Danielle Flasher (Warren)

Rachel Freehling (Warren)

Kendra Fuller (Warren)

Shelby T. Graham (Bear Lake)


Undergraduate students who earn an adjusted semester grade point average of 3.5 or higher will be eligible for recognition as a dean’s list student at Slippery Rock University. This GPA must is based on a schedule of at least 12 newly attempted and earned credits.

Warren County students who earned dean’s list for the spring semester at Slippery Rock include:

Russell: Sarah Dietsch, Kayla Kuppertz, Rachel Peterson, and Grant Venman;

Sheffield: Marlea Sprandle;

Tidioute: Conor Coughlin;

Warren: Karen Akif, Zachary Buerkle, Tyler Dziendziel, Sydney Ewing, Molly Huey, Mitchell Labesky, Alex Nielson, Jacob Papalia, Devon Scalise-Franklin, and Tanner Stanz;

Youngsville: Katie Gustafson, and Christopher Johnson.

Friday events

¯ Warren County Historical Society, 210 Fourth Ave., 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

¯ Warren Public Library, Market St., Warren, open, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.

¯ Community lunch, free to the public, The Salvation Army, 311 Beech St., noon.