Warren Chamber of Business and Industry seeks award nominees

The Warren County Chamber of Business and Industry is seeking nominations for its annual Community Service Award.

“The WCCBI offers individuals and/or organizations throughout Warren County the opportunity to honor volunteers who have made significant contributions to our community through the annual Community Service Award,” according to the application. “The CSA recognizes volunteers for their outstanding service to our community.”

The deadline for applications is October 8 and anyone seeking the forms is asked to contact Director of Chamber Operations and Tourism John Papalia at 723-3050 or by email at jpapalia@wccbi.org.

To guide potential nominations, the WCCBI has offered the selection criteria.

Candidates are expected to have lived in Warren County for not less than 10 years, their contributions should be “external to his or her professional duties and expectations, and also be some expectation “that the candidate will remain in Warren County following receipt of the award to provide continuity, inspiration and (a) positive example.”

Further criteria indicate that there should be an “indication and expectation” that the candidate will continue to serve and “be of such stature as to keep the award prestigious in nature and a compliment to past recipients” as well as “respected and recognized throughout Warren County.”

Nominations may be submitted by individuals or community organizations.

In addition to a nominating form, those nominating individuals are required to draft a narrative description of the nominee saved as a Word document as well as three letters of support from individuals or organizations.

“Confirmation of the breadth and depth of service provided by the nominee should be the focus in securing these letters of support,” according to the application.

The information is then provided to a Community Service Award committee for review and selection.

Last year’s recipient of the award was County Planner Dan Glotz.

Other previous winners include, among others, Olivia Sechriest, Murray McComas and Bob Sokolski.